Le Double de Danse en 2022

Me and my reflection attending a partnering workshop at Tanzwerkstatt Europa (Munich, August 2022)

[ENGLISH] December, the countdown month, is here and my reflections on the year 2022 draw a long list of 2s. In this overview, you will see that this year brought me twice as much luck, challenges and opportunities as before, and that I doubled up the efforts towards my personal and professional development.

2 x 2 Workshops

As a dance professional, I make a point of training regularly. My training routine takes a variety forms to cover physical, mental and creative exercises. As well as practicing yoga on the beach, I take part in weekly dance classes and join workshops whenever I get the chance to. In 2022, I attended 2 weekend workshops in Devon, as part of Helen Poynor’s Walk of Life programme. While the first weekend fed my outdoor movement explorations, the second allowed me to absorb more of the approach to movement developed by American choreographer Anna Halprin (1920-2021).

Walk of Life workshop (Branscombe, Devon, November 2022)

From July to September, I followed a 12-week coaching programme designed and guided by my friend Katrina Madrilejo. I also took advantage of the summer holidays to attend 2 week-long workshops in Munich, at a festival called Tanzwerstatt Europa. If you have been following my blog for a while, you might remember that I attended this festival in 2013 and 2016! This time, at the sustained pace of 6 hours in the studio each day, I broadened and deepened my movement palette, took inspiration from, and constructively critiqued other dance teacher’s methods, and familiarised myself with techniques such as urban dances.

Urban dance workshop with Patrick Williams Seebacher at Tanzwerkstatt Europa (Munich, August 2022)

One day, I will certainly lead these kinds of summer intensives myself. But becoming a student again remains a real pleasure, which I cultivate as best as I can. This month, I’m actually going to complete 2 courses: first, the traditional physical first aid, and then a mental health first aid course, which I’ve been following online since October.

2 Regular teaching jobs

My freelance life is a succession of new jobs. But the overwhelming majority of these opportunities are time-limited: half a day here, 3 hours there, these are the sort of mini-contracts I sign pretty much every month. The difficulty lies in getting and maintaining regular work. So after covering 2 classes at Eastbourne Dance Space at the end of 2021, I was delighted joined the regular teaching team! Every Tuesday night since January, I have been teaching a contemporary dance class for adults, which pushes my own curiosity and reignites my passion for teaching.

Teaching contemporary technique to adult dancers at Eastbourne Dance Space (Eastbourne, May 2022)

Meanwhile, I have kept teaching at The Place on Saturdays, and I have become the director of Shuffle, their youth company for dancers aged 9 to 14. We auditioned these youngsters last July and, since September, I have been leading their 2-hour session on Saturday afternoons. Managing 24 young people so different in ages, needs, and desires has been a real challenge. I do my best to listen to their feedback and ideas and, together, we have choreographed half of the dance piece they’re going to perform in 2023. One thing is certain: I still have a lot to learn from this first school year as youth company director.

2 Rejections

To continue with the challenges and difficulties, I won’t hide that getting funding for my own and my company’s artistic projects has felt like a mountain of work. Unfortunately, I have to climb it too often without reaching my goal. This year, I submitted 2 funding applications, but neither of these was selected by Arts Council England. As a result, I invested some of my own savings into one of my projects. The other one is still on pause. I’m currently shaping and reworking 3 project proposals, which are at various stages of development, with the hope that at least one of these will get the grant it needs in 2023.

2 Residencies

Performing ‘Garden Unlocked’ with Company Concentric and Ensemble Matters at The Horton (Epsom, June 2022)

Thankfully, all of my applications haven’t been submitted in vain! In 2022, I was selected and invited as a resident choreographer in 2 venues. Last spring, The Horton, an arts centre located in Epsom, Surrey, welcomed me and my company for a first residency. And in the summer, Brussels’ performing arts studios P.A.R.T.S., where I already had a residency back in 2019, reopened their doors to me. I took this opportunity to gather my Belgian friends and relatives around an informal sharing in Brussels. I was very touched by my close friends’ and family’s help in hosting the 3 collaborators who travelled from London and worked at P.A.R.T.S. with me. The enthusiasm with which my friends and relatives came to see us perform makes me want to come back again next year!

2 Music Videos

Dancing with the Duende (dancer Bar Groisman) in Asha Parkinson’s music video (Tonbridge, Kent, May 2022)

In 2021, my collaboration with singer-songwriter Ben Henry Edwards had made me hope I would get the chance to dance in more music videos. This wish came true in 2022, thanks to Asha Parkinson. She invited me to perform in her music video El Duende Me Protege released last June. Last summer, I also danced for clarinettist and composer Ray Brien, in a short film that will be released in 2023. Watch this space!


[FRANÇAIS] Décembre, le mois du décompte, a débuté, et mes réflexions sur l’année 2022 dressent une belle succession de 2. Dans ce compte-rendu, vous verrez que cette année, j’ai redoublé de chance, de défis et d’opportunités, et doublé la mise sur mon développement personnel et professionnel.

2 x 2 Ateliers

Comme professionnelle de la danse, je mets un point d’honneur à m’entrainer régulièrement. Mon régime d’exercice physique, mental et créatif prend des formes variées. En plus de pratiquer le yoga sur plage, je prends des cours de danse hebdomadaires et je participe volontiers à des ateliers. En 2022, j’ai participé à 2 week-ends de formation avec Helen Poynor dans le Devon, où se déroule son programme Walk of Life. Tandis que le premier week-end a nourri mes recherches de mouvements en pleine nature, le second m’a permis de m’imprégner à nouveau de l’approche de mouvement développée par la chorégraphe américaine Anna Halprin (1920-2021).

Entre juillet et septembre, j’ai suivi un programme de coaching de 12 semaines créé et guidé par mon amie Katrina Madrilejo. J’ai aussi profité des vacances d’été pour participer à 2 semaines de stages de danse à Munich, dans le cadre du festival Tanzwerstatt Europa. Si vous suivez mon blog depuis longtemps, vous vous souviendrez peut-être que j’y étais déjà allée en 2013 et 2016 ! Cette fois-ci, au rythme soutenu de 6 heures dans le studio chaque jour, j’ai profité du festival pour élargir et approfondir ma palette de mouvements, m’inspirer des méthodes d’autres profs de danse, élaborer des critiques constructives de leurs pratiques, et me familiariser avec des techniques comme les danses urbaines.

Stage de danse à Tanzwerkstatt Europa (Munich, juillet 2022)

Un jour, j’animerai certainement moi-même des stages d’été. Mais redevenir élève reste un plaisir précieux que je cultive de mon mieux. Ce mois-ci, je vais d’ailleurs compléter 2 formations : l’une sur les premiers secours physiques et l’autre sur les premiers secours en santé mentale, un programme en ligne que j’ai commencé en octobre dernier.

2 Rôles réguliers

Ma vie d’indépendante est une succession de nouveaux jobs, mais la grande majorité de ces opportunités sont très limitées dans le temps : une demi-journée ici, 3 heures là-bas, voilà le genre de mini-contrats que je signe à peu près tous les mois. La difficulté est donc de décrocher et de maintenir du travail plus régulier. Après avoir fait 2 remplacements à l’Espace de Danse d’Eastbourne fin 2021, j’ai donc été ravie d’intégrer l’équipe de 4 enseignantes régulières ! Chaque mardi soir depuis janvier, je donne donc un cours de danse contemporaine pour adultes, qui pousse ma propre curiosité et ravive ma passion d’enseigner.

En parallèle, je continue à donner cours de danse à The Place chaque samedi, et je suis devenue directrice de Shuffle, leur compagnie junior pour danseurs et danseuses de 9 à 14 ans. Nous avons auditionné ces jeunes au mois de juillet, et depuis septembre, je dirige leurs 2 heures de répétition chaque samedi après-midi. La gestion de ces 24 jeunes si différents en âges, besoins et envies est un vrai défi, donc j’écoute leurs avis et idées et, ensemble, on a déjà chorégraphié la moitié de la pièce que la compagnie présentera en 2023. Une chose est sûre : j’ai encore beaucoup à apprendre de cette première année scolaire comme directrice du groupe.

Répétition de la chorégraphie créée par les jeunes de la compagnie Shuffle à The Place (Londres, novembre 2022)

2 Rejets

Pour rester dans le rayon des défis et difficultés, je ne vous cacherai pas que l’obtention de subventions pour mes projets artistiques et ceux de ma compagnie est une montagne de travail qu’on escalade malheureusement trop souvent sans arriver au but. Cette année, j’ai envoyé 2 demandes de subsides, mais ni la première, ni la seconde n’ont été sélectionnées par le Conseil des Art d’Angleterre (Arts Council England). Résultat : j’ai investi mes propres économies dans l’un des projets, et l’autre est toujours en suspens. Je construis et retravaille actuellement 3 propositions de projets, qui sont à différents stades de développement, en espérant qu’au moins l’un de ceux-là décroche son financement en 2023.

2 Résidences

Par chance, mes candidatures n’ont pas toutes été vaines ! En 2022, j’ai été sélectionnée comme chorégraphe résidente à 2 endroits. Au printemps, c’est le Horton, un centre culturel situé à Epsom, dans le comté de Surrey, qui m’a accueillie avec ma compagnie. L’été, les studios bruxellois P.A.R.T.S., où j’étais déjà venue en résidence 2019, m’ont rouvert leurs portes. Saisissant ma chance, j’ai rassemblé famille et amis basés en Belgique autour d’une représentation informelle à Bruxelles. J’ai été très touchée par l’aide des proches qui ont hébergé les 3 collaborateurs venus de Londres pour travailler avec moi à P.A.R.T.S.. L’enthousiasme des amis qui se sont déplacés pour venir nous voir danser et jouer m’a inspirée tant et si bien que je compte revenir l’an prochain !

Sortie de résidence de la Compagnie Concentrique à P.A.R.T.S. pour mon cher public de Belgique (Bruxelles, août 2022). Photographe : Marc Philippe Legein

2 Clips musicaux

En 2021, ma collaboration avec l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Ben Henry Edwards m’avait donné l’envie de danser dans d’autres clips vidéo. Ce voeu s’est réalisé en 2022 grâce à Asha Parkinson, qui m’a invitée à danser dans son clip El Duende Me Protege sorti en juin dernier. Cet été, j’ai aussi dansé pour le clarinettiste et compositeur Ray Brien dans un mini-film qui paraitra en 2023. À suivre !

Tournage de Phases, Phases avec Ray Brien (Londres, août 2022)

One thought on “Le Double de Danse en 2022

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.