First week back in London

Thursday 22nd September 2016

Last Thursday, I landed in London. And all of a sudden, there was wind. A fresh, invigorating wind, which made me think that people in Northern countries are constantly pushed forwards. They must move. Be active. Whereas down south, under the sun, life can be enjoyed without moving from a chair. Over there, the sense of passing time may only come from the urge to eat your gelato before it melts on your fingers. Here, you see time flying as you rush from one side of the city to another, amongst other hurried people who walk down the escalators.

Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London. 16/09/2016
Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London. 16/09/2016

On Friday, it rained. It was grey and cloudy, much cooler than in Italy.

Autumn begins, and so does a new chapter of my dancing life!

I am now a part-time student at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. On Friday, I enrolled on the Diploma in Dance Teaching and Learning (DDTAL). Saturday was the second ‘core day’ of the programme, and I have done quiet a lot of homework since then … Other posts on this will follow 🙂

Beside, I’m about to begin a year-long journey on the Next Choreography programme at Siobhan Davies Dance. It all starts this evening, from 6 to 8.30pm!

And most importantly, I’m searching. Searching for a new place to live. I visited 3 flats so far, and have 2 more viewings lined up. I’m also searching for part-time jobs in the dance field. But it’s a lot easier to get volunteering opportunities or to find training that you pay for.

Greenwich Dance Studio, London. 19/09/2016
Greenwich Dance Studio, London. 19/09/2016

To keep fit, I decided to take 3 professional classes per week, so I went to Greenwich Dance and tremendously enjoyed doing some Floorwork with Jack Webb. His class was a meeting point for several alumni from LCDS. Yesterday, I got to see Ellis, who graduated with me and is completing her Master in dance; Robyn and Sophie, who founded a collective called Feet off the Ground when they left the school in 2013; and Helen, who has just started teaching for the Royal Ballet School. Now it’s my turn to find a place in this buzzing community of dance artists, by shadowing and following those who inspire me the most.

***

Jeudi 22 septembre 2016

Jeudi passé, j’ai atterri à Londres. Et tout à coup, il y a eu du vent. Un vent frais et vivifiant, qui m’a fait penser que dans les pays nordiques, les gens sont constamment poussés à aller de l’avant. Ils doivent bouger. Être actifs. Alors qu’au sud, sous le soleil, ils peuvent savourer la vie en restant assis sur un banc. Là-bas, le sens du temps qui passe ne vient sans doute que du besoin de manger un gelato avant qu’il ne vous fonde sur les doigts. Ici, par contre, on voit le temps filer dès qu’on se précipite pour aller d’un bout à l’autre de la ville, parmi d’autres gens pressés qui descendent les marches des escalators d’un pas décidé.

Syllabus et carte magnétique reçus à Trinity Laban, Londres. 16/09/2016
Syllabus et carte magnétique reçus à Trinity Laban, Londres. 16/09/2016

Vendredi fut un jour de pluie. Il faisait gris, nuageux et bien plus froid qu’en Italie.

L’automne commence, et avec lui, s’ouvre un nouveau chapitre de ma vie dansante !

Je suis maintenant étudiante à temps partiel au Conservatoire de Musique et de Danse Trinity Laban. Vendredi, je me suis inscrite au Diplôme en Enseignement et Apprentissage de la Danse ou DDTAL (Diploma in Dance Teaching and Learning). Samedi était le 2ème “jour central” du programme, et j’ai fait pas mal de travail à la maison depuis … A ce propos, d’autres articles suivront 🙂

De plus, je suis sur le point d’entamer un parcours d’un an dans le programme Prochaine Chorégraphie (ou Next Choreography) au studio de danse Siobhan Davies. Ça commence ce soir, de 18 à 20h30 !

Enfin, le plus important, c’est que je suis en pleine recherche. Recherche d’un logement. J’ai visité 3 appartements jusqu’à présent, et j’ai 2 autres visites prévues. Je cherche aussi des jobs à temps partiel dans le domaine de la danse. Mais c’est bien plus facile de trouver des opportunités de faire du volontariat ou d’obtenir un entrainement payant.

Greenwich Dance, Londres, 19/09/2016
Greenwich Dance, Londres, 19/09/2016

Pour rester en forme, j’ai décidé de prendre 3 cours professionnels par semaine. Je suis donc allée à Greenwich Dance et j’ai adoré y faire un peu de Floorwork avec Jack Webb. Son cours était un point de rendez-vous pours plusieurs alumni de LCDS. Hier, j’ai revu Ellis, qui est sortie de l’école avec moi et fait maintenant un Master en danse ; Robyn et Sophie, qui ont fondé un collectif appelé Pieds qui décollent (Feet off the Ground) quand elles ont quitté l’école en 2013 ; et Helen, qui vient de commencer à enseigner pour la l’École Royale de Ballet (Royal Ballet School) anglaise. Maintenant, c’est à mon tour de trouver une place dans cette vibrante communauté d’artistes de la danse, en suivant ceux qui m’inspirent le plus.

One thought on “First week back in London”

  1. Yanaelle, what a wonderful journey you are on and so well shared with your writing! You are inspiring. I’m happy to have met you and as a fellow classmate on the DDTAL programme, looking forward to this time together. London is lucky to have you moving with it! Cathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

